Wake Up Call

The worst part of waking up in the morning is hearing your alarm go off when you are nice and cozy and all you really want to do is hit snooze and roll back over. Wait, who am I kidding, you want to turn the damn alarm off and sleep until your heart is content. Am I wrong? I didn’t think so either. Well, what do you do when you wake up one morning and realize you aren’t happy anymore? Let’s just say it’s a lot like hitting snooze on your alarm clock. You know you should do something, but you don’t want to yet so you keep going with it.  Well, guess what, Life’s wake up call doesn’t come with a snooze button and once you start moving you can’t stop.

My wake up call came six months ago, when I literally woke up one morning and admitted to myself that I wasn’t happy. If you are reading this and you can relate, that’s great because I’ll feel less crazy. I admitted it to myself, but I was embarrassed/ashamed to admit it to those closest to me. I know that sounds silly, but I truly felt like being unhappy was a failure of some sort. I sat up in bed, looked around and realized I had completely lost sight of who I am. Growing up I was a driven, intelligent, witty, sweet, caring, open-minded girl. I had goals that I set out to achieve and I worked really hard. A lot of growing up happened along with moments in life that knocked me on my ass, but I let these moments change me into a person that I didn’t recognize.

So what came next? Well I started thinking, and thinking turned into planning and planning lit a fire in me that I forgot I had. I accomplished a career long goal and after that I lost my way. I dated, and even had relationships but nothing worked long term (this could make for a great story later) and because of that I had no strings. Well I have one string, my dog Cody. Yes, I am a crazy dog mom and NO I don’t care what you think! So, with nothing holding me back I decided to set a goal and give it all I have. That’s how I got to where I am today, across the country in Kentucky over two thousand miles away from some of the best people I could ever ask to have in my life.

Where am I going from here? I’ll be honest I have no fucking clue. Okay, that’s kind of a lie because I do have some ideas, but it wouldn’t be fun if I shared them all in one post. I still don’t have it all figured out, and if you don’t either, I hope you found this relatable and you keep following along.

– Nicole

 

Leave a Reply

